Director-General’s Awards

We have a dynamic and capable workforce who make our organisation what it is today. The Director-General’s Awards recognise staff excellence, teamwork and innovation at SPC.

Introduced in 2014 by Dr Tukuitonga, they reward the outstanding service and commitment of those SPC employees who, often working behind-the-scenes, do our organisation and our region proud.

Staff nominate their peers. The recipients are selected by a troika of past, current and future chairpersons of our Committee of Representatives of Governments and Administrations (CRGA) and Conference, combined with a staff vote. Our winners receive a perpetual trophy which they get to display in their offices for one year, individual certificates and a financial contribution for professional development.


Award recipients to date

  • Jimmie Rodgers’ Emerging Leader Award – Emily Artack (2014) and Leon Takimoana (2015)
  • Teamwork and Innovation –  Audiovisual team, Communications and Public Information (2014) and ICT Suva (2015)
  • Member Collaboration – Coastal Fisheries Science and Management team (2015)