Papua New Guinea map © SPC 2016
Government Independent State, UN Member State (1975), Member of the Commonwealth (1975)
Capital Port Moresby
Population 8.1 million
Land area (km2) 462,840
Max height above sea level (m) 4,509
EEZ (km2) 2,402,288
Currency Papua New Guinean Kina (PGK)
GDP per capita (USD) 1,931 (2013)
Languages English, Tok Pisin, Hiri Motu
Pacific Community membership 1983